Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had zero experience with nitrous. From what I have read, if you don't over use it, it doesn't do too much damage to the engine. This is what I have found out so far from reading other posts. If something is inaccurate, please let me know.

1. A wet system is better for forced induction cars.
2. A 50 shot is probably safe to use.
3. The system can be turned off and on to save nitrous.
4. The Venom system is programmable, but it costs more.
5. It's legal for the drag strip.

Now the stuff I don't know.

How do you use it?
Is the spray duration manual or automatic?
When do you spray, before the launch or after?
Since it increases the oxygen available for combustion, how do you keep your engine from running too lean and hot?
Where you install the injectors, before or after the turbocharger?
Since it's cold, can it crack the hot turbo or engine?
How much does it cost to fill a bottle?
How long does it last?

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I don't have any nitrous experience on my WRX, but have used it extensively in the past... So please take my answers with a grain of salt and I'm sure some of the more experienced WRX nitrous users can help me out later...

1. A wet system is better for forced induction cars.

*true*

2. A 50 shot is probably safe to use.

*true*

3. The system can be turned off and on to save nitrous.

*If you mean it's not in use all the time - true.*

4. The Venom system is programmable, but it costs more.

*unsure re: Venom* - I've heard great things about NX and NOS. (Personal experience is with systems from NOS on carbureted and EFI vehicles)

5. It's legal for the drag strip.

*If installed properly (i.e. secured, certified/pressure-tested bottle, blow-down tube, etc. etc.) then you should not have any trouble at the strip*

How do you use it?