Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont know. When I start the car up and let it run there is this Hella loud screaming sound. It usually goes away after some driving but the car is extremely loud right now. Also, the screaming sound is while in boost. I dont know if there is a leak or not but i need some advice. Thanks...

- Matt

·
Registered
59 Posts
a loud SCREAMING is what people use to describe a uppipe leak. they say...an uppipe leak is very distinguishable.

with that being said, im no expert on uppipe leaks because i have never heard one before. but eversince i put my txs uppipe in my car, i have alot of odd noises too. and not knowing where those noises are coming from discerns me greatly. though you say you have a noise at idle, while my car sounds stock at idle. it makes me wonder if i have a leak as well. my i ask...Do you hear a flutter? cuz, i hear a flutter as my rpms increase. the more im in boost it gets louder. BUT...the noise goes away when im at FULL BOOST, WOT.

my mods are: Txs Uppipe, Txs Turbo-back, Injen CAI.

with my mods...i hear just about EVERYTHING that goes on with my car so trying to decifer an uppipe leak to everything else is hard for me and the fact that i dont know what to listen for. im hoping this thread helps me as much as it will help you....

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
I have had a fluttering sound mainly when the car is cold and in the 2-3k rpm range. Sounds like its coming from the front driver side of the engine bay. I have no idea what it is, but when its fully warmed up it pretty much goes away.

·
Registered
59 Posts
KanosWRX said:
I have had a fluttering sound mainly when the car is cold and in the 2-3k rpm range. Sounds like its coming from the front driver side of the engine bay. I have no idea what it is, but when its fully warmed up it pretty much goes away.