ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so, I got new (new to me) intakes for my z and got a great price.
But the guy who had them before me painted the pipes black with high temp paint.
I was thinking i would remove the paint so its the back to the polished look

How should i go about doing this? i dont wanna use thinner if it will discolor the original polish?

Most people told me to strip the paint and go get it rechromed and repolished. I dont know how much this would cost. there are two pipes, one for each throttle body, and they are both roughly 1.5' with 3" diameter. im at work so i cant like measure them right now.

(im not good with paint subjects, so sorry if this is a stupid question:screwy: )

any help would be great. thanks

·
Registered
11,850 Posts
If they are just polished it shouldn't be too expensive to just re-polish them. You could get them sand blasted and re polished. You could do it yourself if you had access to the equipment. I don't know that much about paint or thinners etc, so I'm not sure if that would be ok.

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If they are just polished it shouldn't be too expensive to just re-polish them. You could get them sand blasted and re polished. You could do it yourself if you had access to the equipment. I don't know that much about paint or thinners etc, so I'm not sure if that would be ok.
Alright, thanks for the help. Sand blasting sounds good. im not really a fan of the chemicals i feel like if they are strong enough to get the paint off they will be strong enough to damage the metal. before, i thought about wetsanding it then getting it repolished. i just want to know is there like a specific way of doing this that i dont know about.

·
Registered
11,850 Posts
i thought about wetsanding it then getting it repolished.