Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
as far as i knew, the material that the CF lays on when setting needs to be perfeclty smooth, as when you peel it up there are no blemishes

i think you also wax the glass prior to laying it

but im no expert (yet)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the panels were prepped for paint, that is, smooth enough to paint. The carbon laid smooth, but I was told to use epoxy resin, and can't figure out how to polish it

·
Registered
6 Posts
please post a clear pic

Please post a pic (good natural light, no flash) so I can visuallize where you are at and I'd be happy to help. Also, feel free to call me at the office at 801-568-0161 (8-5PM MST). I've done more than a bit of CF work;)

James
Advanced Composites Engineer
Delphi Composite Development Lab

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'll post a pic when I get back in town.

If anybody knows of a "Carbon Fiber for Dummies" book, I would greatly appreciate a post.

·
Registered
259 Posts
I've done quite a bit of c/f work (Tuned Perfection Autosports does carbon fiber fabrication) and have found that you need 2 moderate coats of thin grade resin, followed by sanding after the last coat, followed by a couple thick coats of clear coat at a body shop.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Here's a inner trunk piece that we carbon fibered. (notice the shine) We have crafted numerous parts for cars and we will be working on developing some parts for the wrx this winter.

·
Registered
108 Posts
coolblue04 said:
I've done quite a bit of c/f work (Tuned Perfection Autosports does carbon fiber fabrication) and have found that you need 2 moderate coats of thin grade resin, followed by sanding after the last coat, followed by a couple thick coats of clear coat at a body shop.
wow nice work, can I see some other high res pics of some of your shop work?

hrm...sand it and clear coat it, think I'll try it this weekend...

·
Registered
841 Posts