ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new owner of a 2002 WRX. It's just reached 38k miles, and it's time to replace the tires. I'm new to this world - what are some of the best tires out there? I have to be very budget conscious, so I'm looking for something wich will last a while.

·
2,564 Posts
Welcome! Lots of tire threads in the suspension forum.

Moving...

·
Registered
46 Posts
best tires

If you want all season tire i have had good luck with bfg g-force t/a kdws in both stock size 205/55/16 and 225/50/16. i run the 225's on a set of bbs rims for the summer and the 205's on my wifes legacy rims for the winter. she has them on the stock wrx rims on her legacy(she liked the wrx rims better for her car). very good dry grip, excellent wet grip and good snow traction. they are rated 400 AA/A. tire rack has good prices on them.

·
Registered
841 Posts
stevenjaba said:
I'm a new owner of a 2002 WRX. It's just reached 38k miles, and it's time to replace the tires. I'm new to this world - what are some of the best tires out there? I have to be very budget conscious, so I'm looking for something wich will last a while.
I bought new tires 3 days after I got my car, I have Michelin Pilot Sports 225/50-r16 on the stock rims. They are by far the best tire I have ever used, as long as you don't drive in snow. The only thing is they are pricey (about $150 each), but well worth it. My car used to push a lot in turns, with the stockers. No more with these. These are the OEM tires on a lot of BMW's, Porshes, Mercedes, etc.. My car now has 30k miles and they are almost ready to be replaced, but I drive like a madman....:D ;)

·
Registered
475 Posts
The advice above is good. It's all dependant on price range. If you get summers and you are in a place that gets snow repeat after me... I will buy snow tires ( 3 times ).

para

·
Registered
218 Posts
stevenjaba said: