Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My WRX has about 1800 miles on it and I noticed that when I push in the clutch and try to get into first it feel rough going in and sometimes won't go. If I put it in 3rd first then first without releasing the clutch it slips in nice and easy. This rough feeling is only when I first push in the clutch and try to shift into either first or second. If I go into another gear first (other then Reverse) it goes nice and smooth. This is also true if I go into first then take it out and put it back in without releasing the clutch. I am new to driving stick and have not had any grinding of any sort and have not been launching hard. I also never downshift to first unless i'm close to stalling out in second.

Anyone else have this problem? Any ideas what might cause it?

FYI: I posted this same question to i-club.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Ok that explains it. This is my first manual and the cars that I learned on had around 200,000+ miles on the car and where really worn in.

Anything I can do to make it easier?

I like the quote in your sig from SpaceBalls!!

·
Registered
3,501 Posts
nemesis099 said:
The car will be easier to put in gear once the tranny is broken in. Depending on your driving, this could take between 10 and 15,000miles.

Synthetic tranny fluid will improve shift feel as well.

-Jim

·
Thinking Man's Engine
1,598 Posts
nemesis099 said:
Ok that explains it. This is my first manual and the cars that I learned on had around 200,000+ miles on the car and where really worn in.

Anything I can do to make it easier?

Just wait until winter time, where because of the thickness of the gear oil and the cold weather, it will be harder to row through gears when the gearbox is cold. For that I'd go with a synthetic gear oil.

·
Registered
473 Posts
If you are having trouble downshifting to 1st while rolling, you need to double clutch.