Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am getting the WRX in less than a month. MT. and people tell me the WRX handles alot diffrent from most cars.AWD. but just from your personal experience is it that much harder to handle? because people have been telling me mad scary stories about bad handleing judgement when they drive there WRX..keep in mind it is my first time driving MT. do you think ill be fine...im not a bad driver im actually really good....any adivice or comments?

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanx for the info...can you help me out though, that site is sorta confusing..what on the site do u recamend i check out?

·
Premium Member
3,539 Posts
Third (or is it fourth!) driving school.

But to answer your original question, it doesn't handle poorly, just differently. In fact its not hard at all once you get used to it - its actually very, very forgiving. No vices other than a bit of tendancy to understeer - something that can be drastically improved on the cheap. Oh, plus the stock tires are garbage. I've heard of people cutting a deal with the dealer at purchase to swap them out for better rubber.

Kudos to you for having the guts to switch to MT with the Rex. Might be a hassle at first, but I think you'll be happier in the long run. (NOT intended as a slam on anybody else, just a thumbs up for Jester!)

·
Registered
480 Posts
WRX Handling

FUNKED1 said:
Take a performance driving school or a racing school or a shifter kart school. The street is not the place to learn how to drive fast. :)
jester,

This is very sound advice. Another good way to explore the limits of your car's handling capabilities is by participating in autocross. Check out the posts on the Road Racing and Autocross board.

Anyway, I commend you on asking the question. A lot of people new to the car seem only interested in finding out how fast they can make it go in a straight line.