ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Gauges are as much for looks as they are for utilitarian purposes it seems, so what are useful gauges?

At least what I have heard, and I’m no frigin expert but the most common are Boost, EGT, and Oil Pressure.

I'm not going to dispute the usefulness of boost gauges, but what about EGT and Oil Pressure?

Your gauge will read full oil pressure as long as you have enough oil to circulate in the system. Usually (haven’t experienced this with my rex and I hope never too) see a drop when your pretty damn low in which case you should have been checking your oil and you’re an idiot anyways...

EGT isn't as bad as oil pressure, it has it uses but really it’s a secondary fail safe. If you have temperature spikes all the sudden doesn’t exactly tell you what the problem is, and you probably notice the CEL if its an engine problem before you’d notice the EGT. (That and you can see if you’re going to burn your turbo up heh)

Someone enlighten me as to why Oil Pressure and EGT are so popular. Personally I would rather have an Oil TEMP and Radiator Temp Gauge, as these are more likely to daily driving failures. If my brother had had a radiator temp gauge he would have noticed the temperature spike caused by his radiator fan getting caught and wouldn't have gotten his engine cracked from the increased temps.

Maybe for track only cars EGT and Oil pressure make more sense because of all the HP your packing from the turbo. But most street performance cars should be more scared of the other more common failures.

My 2 cents enlighten me on my stupidity if this doesn’t make sense because i'm in the process of buying a gauge pod and my friends keep telling me to get EGT and oil pressure gauges and i’m like wtf.

·
Registered
926 Posts