ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently my 5MT gave way. Now I'm looking for a transmission, but my question now is if I buy a 5MT again or rebuild it how high are the chances of the transmission breaking again? Or should I try to go with a 6MT? Only reason I'm asking this is because right now financially I can't do the 6MT swap seeing I only have 3k + money for the new clutch and flywheel. If this was a month ago, then this would've been different, since I'm a full-time student I had to buy stuff for the new spring semester.

thanks,

M

·
Captain James of the SS Impreza has gone down with
8,921 Posts
Very high. The RA gearsets are a bit stronger from what I've read but are geared differently. I'm willing to bet you can find used PPGs for around 3k.

·
Master Baiter
22,115 Posts
Go with Albins/PPG replacement gears

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I found a good deal on a JDM v7 6MT, ( TY856WB1AA )so I guess I'm going with this. My only question now is aside from the trans, shifter, clutch/flywheel, xmemeber, etc. Will I need anything else for the swap diff, driveshaft, etc ?

Need to know by today so when it comes in I can have everything together, instead of having to wait a few days for the other parts to come in.

thanks,

·
Premium Member
6,501 Posts
Pretty sure you need the driveshaft and rear diff.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
--- Does anyone if my axles will fit/work on this tranny, or do I have to change them too. The diff I will be getting is r160 to match up with the final drive of the trans, 3.90.

thanks so much for the help.

·
SuperNova
11,905 Posts
As discussed in your previous thread on 5mt/6mt, its not as straight forward a swap as you might think, and not something to be done on the cheap.

I vote rebuilt 5 spd with ppgs. That requires the least amount of additional expenses and parts retrofits.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #9