ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to start out by saying Ive had a wrx for 2 months, it is my first subie, and my first turbocharged car. I am a noob so please take it easy lol. However I do have a decent amount of mechanical experience, and understanding.My 04 ej205 wrx got a serious case of rod knock last weekend. It blew all the oil out of the exhaust, and some also came from under the engine (not sure what from haven't pulled the engine yet). the engine had 90k miles on it. I know I will be replacing the crank bearings for sure, and possibly pistons (thinking one broke a ring, hence the oil in exhaust). I want to mildly build the engine. More for durability than performance, as it will be my daily driver, but I do tend to have a heavy foot, and autocross the car on occasion. The car will be running COBB ap stage 2, and possibly a future pro tune. I want to keep the stock turbo, possibly rebuild mine. I will also be replacing the clutch, most likely with a stage 2 clutch. So i guess what i wanna know is what parts should i buy to make this engine as bulletproof as possible? Is boring the cylinders, and adding forged pistons worth it? and what about headers? Is a lightweight flywheel recommended? And what about lightweight crank pulleys? everyone seems to have a different opinion on them. Will porting and polishing the intake manifold and heads offer good gains? As of now I know that I will be buying an aftermarket turbo inlet, and a catless up pipe, as I have heard good things about both, and they both seem to offer good bang for the buck. But most importantly, I want to get my engine as close to a new engine as possible. Im sure I have more questions, but this is a start lol. Thanks in advance guys!

·
Super Moderator (Actually a SuperSpy)
29,466 Posts