Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm sitting here in my recliner watching the new rally xs on speed and on tight turns the drivers yank the e brake and nothing seems to happen but word around here is that it's bad for the drivetrain?? i mean i'm sure it's not the greatest but what's the deal? i understand that WRC cars are so much more sturdy and faster than stock cars. anyone want to clarify at all or am i wasting my time?

·
Premium Member
6,750 Posts
No, you're right, it would hurt our drivetrain, but if I remember correctly, all WRC cars' E-Brakes are made such that it completely disengages the entire rear differential, thus the torque is cut off as well, which makes it safe to use.

·
Registered
553 Posts
i would guess it has something to do with their higher performance differentials. they must be designed to account for the strain of the e-brake. well that's just my thoughts, i'm no expert either, so i could be wrong.

·
Registered
5,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Verdugo said:
No, you're right, it would hurt our drivetrain, but if I remember correctly, all WRC cars' E-Brakes are made such that it completely disengages the entire rear differential, thus the torque is cut off as well, which makes it safe to use.
did not know that...hmmm did not know that..i might have to do some net surfing to check and see if you are correct

·
Premium Member
3,539 Posts
They have extremely sophisticated computer-controlled diffs. The handbrake has a switch on it - just like the stock one - but instead of turning on the light on the dash, it disengages the rear end at the center diff when pulled.

Theoretically, you could set up an auto rex to do the same thing.....

Chris

·
Registered
5,095 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
GV27 said: