ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was driving my hoopty civic today, and a cop gave me a ticket for illegal exhaust, claiming that its louder than stock, this is my beater car and my exhuast was replace with a 2" pipe and muffler after there was a hole in the old one, causing it to sound like a harley, so its actually quieter than before, dumb cop told me that if chnage out the exhuast system, it cannot be louder than the stock, my exhuast is nowhere near being loud, i think he was too emabrassed to admit that he was wrong, i mean, they can't expect a 14 year old car with 180K miles to sound like a 2004 mercedes, this is one ticket i will definately take to court.. have anyone out there ran into this type of situation? i've been driving cars with louder aftermarket exhuast for 7 years now, and this is the first time i've been pull over for something like this,
it was on smoky hill and orchard by the way

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hehehe, i guess that'll help abit, i only used periods and capitals when im writing papers or something formal...

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i know that u cannot replace your stock exhuast with something louder than stock. but my argument is that i did replace it with something stock. the piping they gave me at the exhuast shop is pretty much stock size, and they slap on a stock muffler. to be honest, my exhuast is pretty quiet for an old car. its by all mean not loud at all. i just think the cop was irritated by the fact the car was lowered, and look like it was modified, that along with he not having anything better to do. i will bring that car to court with me and will ask the judge or whoever they are more than welcome to listen to it, hell i even take them for a ride. i usually do not waste my time with this sort of stuff, and usually take fault in it. but i think the officer was being very unreasonable, therefore i will go to court

·