ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay so I'm kinda new to subaru's, at least modifying them anyway, and my friend and I have this idea to put a turbo charged 2007 WRX engine into his current 2007 impreza. Now we don't have a budget yet, we're playing with this idea to see if it's even worth doing, because his car already has a number of cosmetic and a few performance modifications and the next thing he wants to do is make it into a sleeper or at least sleeperish. His impreza is a 5 speed manual, and I've looked up the gear ratios for the same year in 5 speed non turbo and 5 speed turbo and their not THAT different but I digress. Anyway the whole point of why I'm here asking this is question is: what goes into doing a swap like this. What needs to be done to the entire car for this to work and NOT be a complete waste. Any and all help is much welcome and very appreciated! :)

·
Premium Member
25,496 Posts
This isnt a plug and play honda swap, your better off selling the 2.5i and buying a wrx. Brakes, suspension, trans, rear diff, wiring harnesses, ecu, tune, exhaust, hood

·
Super Moderator (Actually a SuperSpy)
29,446 Posts
Agreed, not even worth considering. The car you want exists, Subaru produced it. Sell what you don't want and buy what you do want.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well that answers my question. But for the record, if one were to do something like this for god knows what reason, I'm guessing the cost would be more than just buying a decent used wrx or STi?

·
Premium Member
25,496 Posts
You could easily buy a used bugeye and keep the 2.5i if thats what your asking.

·
29,446 Posts
Well that answers my question. But for the record, if one were to do something like this for god knows what reason, I'm guessing the cost would be more than just buying a decent used wrx or STi?