ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!
I bought an 02 WRX this past saturday and currently I have gotten a new timing belt change as well as water pump, all the other belts changed, oil change, new spark plugs, and thermostat. I'm really excited about this car and I upgraded from a 95 civic hatch to this amazing car! And I'm completely new to subarus and the turbo and everything! So I'm going to need a lot of help!

As for now I want to keep it mostly stock bc I am a full time student. However I read that the cat in the uppipe can break and damage the turbo. I would def want to invest in a new uppipe but I live in ca and the smog laws are very difficult. So my question is, will gutting out the cat in the uppipe ruin my chances of passing smog legally or will I have to buy another cat and put it somewhere else? Right now this is My main concern as this is going to be my daily and I spent more money than I ever had to buy this car. So I need advice from my Cali people! And I want to keep it smog legit.. At least for now lol

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's definitely a reason they could use to fail you... whether or not they would catch it would be the bigger question. I'd say pass smog then replace it and save your stock one to put back on when you have to pass smog again.
Ya I could do that but I heard it was a pain in the butt haha.. Do u have a stock one on urs? And if not do u pass smog without having to change it?

·
Premium Member
17,655 Posts
Gut the stock cat. Take the up pipe off, then take a screw driver, then dremel to the inside, breaking apart all of the catalyst element. then dremel it smooth, then reinstall it. Cheaper than an uppipe, will pass the visual smog inspections, and you'll get a bit of a power gain.

·
Administrator ...De Rerum Natura
20,139 Posts