Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm new to this fourm and pretty much new to the Subaru world... I have a question, if I buy a cold air intake do I really need to tune for that? I mean I just purchased a 2017 sti and want to add a cold air intake but don't want to void my warranty. Also what's a good intake brand? Thank you guys in advance.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

·
Water.....sometimes waves
1,612 Posts
The stock intake is a cold air intake. And the best part is that the car is already tuned for it! I know of only one intake that claims it needs no tune -- but conventional wisdom says even that is risky; most here would tell you to get a tune for any aftermarket intake.

Why do you want a different intake?

·
Registered
338 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,457 Posts
It requires a tune.

The stock ecu calibration decides fueling from the maf based off the air flow characteristics of the stock housing. When you change that the air is no longer moving through the intake the same and the ecu gets incorrect readings from the maf and causes fueling errors.

Your car will either blow up and you'll pay out of your pocket to replace it because an intake isn't any less likely to get an engine failure warranty claim denied than a tune, or you'll sell it before it blows up and we will have a new member in the future wanting to know why his Subaru has blown ringlands.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
For External Use Only
2,488 Posts
Why do people ask this question so often.. Yes.. you REALLY need a tune... I mean if you read 100 other places that you need to tune for a cold air intake, why will one person saying " I have one and I didn't tune!" change your mind..

·
BooSTIng
2,288 Posts