Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new in car modification/parts world so i dont know anything about which coilover would fit my interest best. I have a 2017 subaru wrx and Im not planning on taking them to tracks, i just want to lower it a little bit. Im looking for an affordable coilover but a decent one which would last me couple years. I have a friend selling me a megan racing coilover for 600 he said he only used it for 3 months but i dont know if thats a good one. I live in orange county california if that matters, i believe road conditions are a factor in getting coilovers? Please help and take it easy on harsh comments i know its a n00b question. Lol

· Master Baiter
22,140 Posts
Since you won't be tracking the vehicle, unless you want coilovers for bragging rights (to impress those who don't know better), that's not the path you should pursue. If you care about ride quality / handling, you should be looking at lowering springs; RCE Black or Yellow and Swift Spec-R are great options.

Megan Racing is garbage

· Not a mod... or is he? Or, is he not?
15,759 Posts
There isn't a lot in the coilovers range sub 2k bucks you want. Even the really good quality stuff needs constant care and adjustment. It's common to have the height adjustment collars slip and need readjusted.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Since you won't be tracking the vehicle, unless you want coilovers for bragging rights (to impress those who don't know better), that's not the path you should pursue. If you care about ride quality / handling, you should be looking at lowering springs; RCE Black or Yellow and Swift Spec-R are great options.

Megan Racing is garbage
What are the downside of getting lowering springs?

· Master Baiter
22,140 Posts
SherlockeHomies said:
1) You can't brag to your friends that you got "coilovers"