Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
check engine light and MIL QUESTION

I am going t install a cobbs turbo back and aps cold air intake and found out that i may get a check engine light, knowing i can get the MIL i just have ?'s about it, does the MIL just fool the ecu by sending a signal that it want to see. If so i guess the real question is does the ecu try to adjust by reading the rear o2 sencer, if so is there a better way to correct rather than tricknig the ecu, I am a newbie and love my car, just want to do it right any input will help me understand, thank you:rolleyes:

·
Registered
51 Posts
Probably. I installed a TurboXS turboback + uppipe recently, and just got my first P0420 (cat inefficiency) code yesterday. Going to install the MIL Eliminator this weekend, should keep that from recurring hopefully. Don't know how the Cobb turboback is set up, if they moved the O2 sensor behind the cat like the TurboXS and you didn't do the uppipe too, you might not get the code.

PS: a *lot* of people recommend against CAI systems, just fyi.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No I did not install the uppipe yet, but all i have now is a hi flo cat in the down pipe and 02 is basicly in the same spot, also yes i have been reading that i should get a short ram intake rather than a cai, think i will order the MIL AND INTAKE THIS WEEKEND TOO.. the reason i ask the ? is i bought this off a friend and he said when he first installed, he got the cel. and he had a little bit of blue smoke come of his exhaust at times, and i didnt know if the ecu was tring to adjust, could this be bad if mil is not installed

thanks wrx420 its about that time :)-~

·
Registered
9 Posts