Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, first post to this site so forgive me if I'm in the wrong place... just picked up a 2017 WRX Limited last week, absolutely love it. First Subaru for me and first in the family, got it for commuting 1.5+ hours to school :sleep:

So my question is when the inevitable exhaust modifications come... I plan to eventually delete the catalytic converter but I don't want the check engine light. is there any existing mod to rid my dash of that light? Obviously I don't wanna f* my car up and I don't want any "tape over the light" kind of fixes. I'm a mechanic but my thing for a long time has been pre smoggers and motorcycles so modding this crazy new car turbo stuff is new to me, but nothing I can't handle. Any help appreciated, happy Friday...

·
Super Moderator
10,959 Posts
You'll be required to get a tune after that exhaust change, some tuners disable the code. Others won't due to local regulations and legal headaches.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
10,959 Posts
I would second guess that. From my understanding the rear O2 on the newer ECUs deals with fuel trims as well as the front O2. I would verify that the fa20f does not do that before I put an anti fouler on it.

·
Master Baiter
12,649 Posts
Disable the P0420 code on the ECU from being triggered, which is generally what gets thrown when you replace the factory catalysts with a catless / high-flow cat version. Something like Cobb AP maps do this for you, so when you flash the map, you're all set.

·
Registered
4 Posts
If the rear O2 does in face affect fuel trims, then it's not a good solution. But what I linked to is not an anti-fouler. It's literally a miniature catalytic converter that functions exactly like a full size one.

·
Super Moderator
10,959 Posts