ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be in the market for a downpipe to move my 2010 WRX to stage 2. I currently have the SPT CBE and like the sound I get from it. My question is, what are the main differences in performance/feel between a catted and catless DP. I'm new to tuning and recently flashed a TP map using tactrix so I'd be getting a TP stage 2 map and flashing right after I figure out what kind of DP I want and get it installed. I'm not looking to spend a ton of money on a DP (if possible) so I'd also like suggestions on some good deals. I live in Iowa and we currently have no emission checks so I wouldn't really have to worry about that (which may be a reason many need a catted DP??). I'm pretty new to this stuff so ignore my ignorance if possible. Also, going to a catless DP, would that throw codes or cause any issues? Thanks!

·
The Fruit
4,728 Posts
personally I'd go catted and there are a couple of reasons why;

-It helps mitigate boost creep problems that the 09 n later cars have.

-You may not always live somewhere that doesn't do emissions..and where you live could always start doing emissions testing. Technically its FEDERAL regulation so could come into effect at any time. Or you could swing better job somewhere else.. etc. Never hurts to be legal.

-The cat doesn't really impact performance that much so why not be a lil more green and run one?