ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just put on my spt cat back exhaust and sounds sexy. I'm from ny and wondering if I can get a ticket for exhaust even tho the part is from subaru.sorry if the post is not in the right section.(2011 wrx)

·
Super Moderator
33,822 Posts
Highly doubtful. It is not loud, so you are good to go.

·
Premium Member
10,822 Posts
Technically yes.Any modification to any car in the state of NY is illegal.

The SPT exhaust looks & sounds OEM .If you had a fart can this would be a different case.

Now will an LEO pull you over & go crawling under your car to see if your exhaust is legal?Highly unlikely.Unless you get pulled over the most anal of them.

·
Master Baiter
22,115 Posts
According to NY VTL, any modification to the exhaust to make it louder is illegal. I'm not a lawyer, but considering you can obtain a car with an SPT exhaust from the factory (or the dealership installs it upon receipt before delivery), I would say you should be fine with it.

As Tony mentioned, the SPT is a subtle exhaust upgrade, and is not likely to draw extra attention. I have a Borla catback on my car that's quite a bit louder than OE, but looks stock, and have yet to be issued a citation for it, even when pulled over already.

·
Premium Member
10,822 Posts
the dealership installs it upon receipt before delivery
This is also key.Apparently the company only considers parts installed before delivery to be OEM & anything installed afterwards(even an OEM part installed by a dealer) to be aftermarket.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thx for the help guys. I didn't wanna be paranoid while driving so this would be good. Cuz around here they attract to noise so I should be good.

·
Wants to Sell His Honyota Civilander..Any Takers?
785 Posts
^^^^ Very funny.

That's the very reason I keep a white man in my trunk at all times.

·
Registered
778 Posts