ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Subaru Impreza WRX wagon (MT)
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the WRX world but have been around cars and motorcycles my entire life so I feel like I know a good amount but this is stumping me. I could not pass on this 2005 WRX deal but there was one wire under the hood that baffled me. After further investigation I believe that both camshaft position sensors are not plugged in, I thought that would not allow the engine to run but after spending the last three hours on the internet I am stumped. I noticed some manufacturers make camshaft position sensor delete plugs so I guess it can be done but I could not find anything on this forum discussing it. So let me lay everything out and hopefully someone can help me...

2005 WRX wagon (MT), completely stock, unknown if it was previously modded and returned to stock or not
74,200 miles
Will sometimes start right up and sometimes there is a long crank and slow start (temperature does not appear to matter)
I am getting a small amount of surging between 2400 and 3000 rpms when 15-30% throttle
Other than that it drives great and appears to have the appropriate amount of power

I have attached two pictures, the one is a wiring harness that appears to be bypassed. Please someone help me with identifying this, this wire is on the passenger side of the engine. Second picture is a sensor receptacle (2-prong) that is unplugged, its location is drivers side head above the rear coil pack, there is an identical one that is also unplugged in the same location on the passenger side head. Again please help with identifying these sensors.

My theory is that the previous owner had the car modified and did a camshaft position sensor delete (if that is a thing) and prior to selling it put the vehicle back to stock. The carfax showed extremely consistent maintenance and no upgrades done at the dealership.

Any and all help appreciated!

·
Registered
7 Posts