ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The wife and I are about to buy a 2005 WRX Sport Wagon. Unfortunately we'll need to buy it pretty much sight unseen, as the dealership only has the sedan available. they can have a wagon shipped out if we decide to buy it.

We drove the sedan and it was frigging beautiful. Tell me, are there any handling differences or otherwise between the sedan and wagon?

I'm trying to get it for about $24000. Good price? Would you try to get it lower?

And, accessories... I damn well want a turbo gauge, but I'm thinking of going with the three-instrument cluster that replaces the clock. Thoughts? Does the stand-alone turbo gauge block the tach or spedometer?

And lastly, how about the short-throw shifter. Worth it? I loved the way my Miata used to shift and if the short-throw would make the wrx shift like that, it'd be a no brainer.

Any and all advice would be appreciated. I'm new to Subarus totally.

Thanks
Bruno

·
Registered
14 Posts
use carsdirect to find the target price for the vehicle, print it out, and bring it to the dealership so you have something to bargain with. also, go through their internet department if they have one.

·
Registered
882 Posts
If you're considering getting the center gauge pod, you might want to consider getting an aftermarket pod and gauges installed. It won't cost a terrible amount more than the factory pod, and you could get something much nicer. Search the cockpit and cabin forum for "gauge pods" or something similar and you'll find some really nice ones. Oh, and I would definitely go for the short throw.

·
Registered
154 Posts
just buy it- you'll love it. I have an 04 wagon and i love it. I never drove a sedan so i don't know how they compare but the wagon does not feel like a wagon - it feels pretty darn sporty. Definately get the short throw

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
cliff201 said: