Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So just bought a used 2015 WRX with 37k miles on her last week and it came with a Perrin cat back already installed. I believe the rest of the car to be stock, spikes at 21.9 and sustains 15. I haven't gotten down under to see if a previous owner installed a J pipe/downpipe as well but by the sound I'm assume its still stock. Obviously I'm already thinking about that Cobb accessport and intake... however this car is going to be a daily with fast accumulating miles (until its bike season again at least) and I want to maintain that Subaru level of reliably. Im a newb wrx owner with a very rudimentary understanding of tuning/ building cars and I'm unsure if running this exhaust alone could cause long term damage without an intake/tune. So basically I want an excuse to order the accessport and SF intake bc its already got an exhaust but I don't want to jack anything up in the long run... Any insight or recommendations on how to approach the situation is appreciated..

·
Registered
1,279 Posts
If it's just a cat back exhaust no tune is necessary. If you have a down pipe, you should get a tune. It will be pretty easy to tell the stock exhaust components compared to the aftermarket cat back. Check it out ASAP.

·
Registered
338 Posts
tough situation, if it DOES have a aftermarket J-pipe it might already have a protune or something like that. Where did you buy it/can you ask what was done.

Just a catback will not harm it and you dont need a tune for that. Airbox you DO need a tune. If you are going with an airbox Id order the j pipe too and just be done with it.

·
Registered
212 Posts
po·ten·ti·ate
/pəˈten(t)SHēˌāt/
increase the power, effect, or likelihood of (something, especially a drug or physiological reaction).
"the glucose will potentiate intestinal absorption of sodium"
verb
technical