ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a problem with my 2004 WRX sti, I’m not able to achieve full boost. I’m getting anywhere form 9-12 ish, only depending on the temperature outside. The car is stock (as far as I know), I purchased it around late November. So I’m new to Subaru and Turbos in general. With that all being said I am going to need some help and as little abbreviations since I’m not completely up to speed on this.

Steps i have taken:

1. I put it in test mode to check my boost control solenoid it does click and i also ran some carb cleaner through it while it was cycling to clean it.
2. I checked my restrictor pill and found that it wasn’t in the correct location, i put it in the correct place and still no fix (which makes me think it’s not as stock as I was told).
3. I then checked the lines on the compressor and waste gate for cracks and fixed what was visible. Ran it again and still no fix.
4. I then Reset my ECU and pulled the Restrictor pill out completely to see if i could get a spike. No spike in boost, it remained in the 10psi range.

I have a cheap boost gauge so i do expect some accuracy issues, when its off the gauge reads a shy under 0psi so it’s not off by 5psi.

I run around 17-20 inHg in vacuum.
No ECL's.
Slight hesitations at 2k RPM (not always though).

Im waiting on and OBD-II so i can confirm my exact Boost with ROMraider.

I also bought spark plugs to put tomorrow.

Another thing is how easy should the waste gate actuator arm move, By hand?

·
Premium Member
15,697 Posts
I have a problem with my 2004 WRX sti, I’m not able to achieve full boost. I’m getting anywhere form 9-12 ish, only depending on the temperature outside. The car is stock (as far as I know), I purchased it around late November. So I’m new to Subaru and Turbos in general. With that all being said I am going to need some help and as little abbreviations since I’m not completely up to speed on this.