Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know the boost monkey is a fairly new item on the market. To anyone who has actually installed this device, how does it perform? Would you recommend purchasing? Today's my birthday, so I'm looking to buy myself a special speed enhancing gift! :D

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I know somebody has to have this thing installed!!
Someone give me some feedback !!

BuMp :D

·
Banned
7,636 Posts
i haven't heard of anyone with one installed. run some searches though, it's been discussed quite a bit since it's release.

i know of a few peeps looking into them, but no one has posted a review yet, or said they have one.

dR

·
Registered
249 Posts
Boost Monkey #20 review

Keep in mind that I'm just a newbie here, and that I don't have an EGT gauge.

I installed mine tonight after receiving it in the mail yesterday. Detailed instructions are correct and easy to understand. I initially tapped into an incorrect wire on the PCM, but soon discovered my mistake with no dire consequences.

To summarize: It works exactly as advertised. The only mods I've had on the car before the install are the grounding mod, silencer removal, K&N, and 3/16 restrictor. Before, I was only seeing about .06-.07 mpa (9 psi) in 1st and 2nd gear, and .09 mpa (13 psi) in 3rd-5th all at WOT. With the boost turned completely down on the Boost Monkey dial, it registered less boost than "Pre-Monkey" at about .07 mpa in all gears at WOT. I suppose this would be useful if you let someone else borrow the car, or for the parking garage guy.