Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
help! i'm new to the wrx, but not to turbo awd cars; i work at a volvo dealership and have driven plenty of s60R's for example; my problem doesn't exist on those cars but it does in my wrx...

when i'm rowing through the gears enthusiastically, i get a bog at the shift into the next gear, sometimes a slight shudder. usually 2nd to 3rd, or 3rd to 4th. my shifts are smooth not rough, and i'm letting off the clutch quickly; not forcefully but not slipping it either. and i'm not new to shifting or anything lol; i've got plenty of experience.

why could this be? am i falling off boost? or do these cars like you to be gentle when letting off the clutch at gear change? i'm shifting fast enough to not fall off boost... i've been experimenting a little but of course i don't want to be screwing around on the city streets. i do want to become familiar with my new car and learn to drive it before auto-x starts again. any suggestions are appreciated!!

·
Registered
173 Posts
I read the thread you referenced, and I don't think that they are talking aboubt "bogging" Bogging is more of a "shudder" it happens when you drop the clutch too fast. Just "slip" the clutch, to let it engage slower. Slip it fast enough not to toast it, and slow enough not to bog. Its a balancing act. The higher your revs are the the more you'll have to slip it (oh the sweet aroma of burning clutch :) Yes, AWD cars are bad about bogging. Its a traction vs. power thing. We have too much traction and the wheels can't slip. Something has to give and its usually the tranny.