Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I'm new here, and I'm also new to modding, so I'll be asking lots of questions about modding my new WRX. :D

I don't want to heavily mod my WRX. I'm looking for relatively inexpensive modifications that improve HP, broaden the powerband, and maybe get a few extra lb/ft torqe while at it. Reliability, and engine life are important to me, so I definitally don't want to do anything that will stress the longevity of my drivetrain.

After reading thread after thread on this board, here's what I'm thinking about doing:

Turbo Timer: this will be my first mod, I've heard you should give the turbo time to cool down, expecially after hard driving (is there any other form of driving worthy of the WRX?). I want a turbo timer that fits somewhere nicely into the dashboard, something non-intrusive, out of the way. What are your recommendations? I've heard the Blitz Turbo Timer is a good choice...

MBC: I guess this is a good performance mod to start out with. If I understand it correctly, this will control an increase in the boost my turbo. What are good MBC's that are reliable, safe on the engine, and provide the most power?

Exhaust: I definitally would like to get a nice aftermarket exhaust. What types of exhaust options are there? What provides the best performance?

Intake: Should I get a cold air intake, with a conical filter? Or should I just stick with regular aftermarket square filter? Or is there something even better?

In the end, I would like to spend no more than $2000 on these mods. I will probably do it in the order above. Any other recommendations? I've sure this post has demonstrated my "newbie-ness" to modding, but hey, you gotta start somewhere right? I want to make sure I represent our WRXs well out on the road.

Thanks for any and all advice you all can provide!

·
Registered
2 Posts
best mods to start with

Hi Jeff-