Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the interest of public service...

Many young people come to this forum looking for validation of their quest for a cool, rally-worthy vehicle like the WRX. Many times they are disappointed by the response from more mature members.

Therefore, I would like to offer a couple of thoughts given my 40+ years of driving.

It takes years to learn how to drive well and how to appreciate the qualities that make a car good or bad. I was very lucky with my first cars, as they were safe (for the time anyway), reliable and fun to drive. But not with a lot of horsepower.

I feel I am still learning how to drive! It took me 6 months to find the sweet spot with my shifts and acceleration and clutching and braking with my current WRX--driving a MT is a highly complex task--being a couple milleseconds off with the clutch or timing the acceleration wrong can really crimp your driving style. (My other comment is that people who think this car isn't fast or fun don't know how to drive it, but that's a topic for another time.)

Anyway, I think it's a given that young drivers even up to age 25 or so need a safe, reliable car that won't break down, handle poorly or fail to protect them in the event of a crash. All Subarus fit that bill IMO, also Hondas and Toyotas. Preferably with a low cost of ownership, including insurance.

The important point from my perspective is that for younger drivers it's not the speed or HP you should be focusing on, it's the transmission and the handling. Therefore you need a MT to really learn to appreciate driving. (That's my bias, and I'm sticking with it.)