Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whose performance Pulley kit is the best? I have found 4, Vishnu, AEM, GFB, and Unorthodox.

Unorthodox Is the most expensive
AEMs is the cheapest
Vishnu and GFB both seem to give solid HP gains.

Which is the best bang for the buck?

Has anyone done the Pulleys withour doing other mods so that they can tell a difference?

·
Premium Member
17,861 Posts
when I got the Unorthodox racing underdrive pulley installed it was like going from 18" wheels n tires too 16" wheels n tires ....noticable ....
you do need different belts though :) also on idle only there is a slight dimming of the lights ...

I would probably go with the GFB (GoFastBits) if i had to do it again only because they are lighter but not underdriven ....and they use the stock size belts like the factory :)

Andy...

·
Registered
14 Posts
I'm no expert with the WRX but.....there is no reason an underdrive crank pulley would do anything but good things. The lights diming is a result of using the underdrive alternator pulley which is a bad bad idea. As a simple bolt on I would absolutely suggest getting the underdrive crank pully.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
i put in a vishnu powerpulley set, they are light, they give u the new belts, and it looks nice too. I mean u dont feel like a huge change in your car, but it feels a little smoother i guess. Good luck with the crank pulley though, that things a biotch to get out(at least it was for me) get a breaker bar, thats the only way i got mine out.

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
I agree with Jim. The crank pulley is most critical to enhanced performance. The TB racing pulley is very light and uses the stock belts. I doesn't underdrive so there is no effect on the alternator,
power steering, or A/C.

misterx

·
Registered
188 Posts
Speaking of TB RACING pullies, I just happen to know someone who is taking preorders for the next batch right now :)