ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I am finally getting to the point where I really need to replace my stock Bridgestone Potenza tires. I have been trying to price some Yoko's and some Michelins. I just don't know what to go w/ though. I still have the stock 16" '02 wheels. I need something that is all weather so i can go up to the pass w/out getting stuck when I go snowboarding. Since the Seattle rainy season is coming i also would like something that handles well on wet surface and doesn't hydroplane as easily (I-5 sucks for that).

Does anyone have any recommendations on tires w/ out moving up to 17-18" wheels? I have about a $600 budget.

---side story----

I was headed up to Steven's Pass, WA last winter and was worried about traction in the deep snow (it was coming down) so I stopped @ Les Schwabb and picked up some recomended chains. I was an inexperienced Subie driver plus the fact I am an Eagle Scout (Be Prepared). So we got into some pretty mucky stuff, SUV's were pulling off w/ 4x4 engaged to put their chains on. I just kept trucking w/ out chains made it to the top of the mountain in EXTREME weather conditions. On the way back from the hill I took the chains back in and got a full refund. I don't think I will ever need those. AWD rocks in the snow- my tires even sucked then.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Perfect reference man. TireRack is sweet because it has review w/ people who have Rex's and drive them like us. I am now a step or two closer- can't wait to hone in on a good tire and take them around some bends on the first spin.

thanks

·
Registered
332 Posts
pirelli

I'm goin with the Pirelli Nero m+s tires. They have awesome reviews and are ranked near the top on every aspect at tirerack.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #10