Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I did some searching on this forum and I couldn't find it, so here we go. I've been looking at Vivid Racing and their turbo upgrades. The IHI VF23 turbo says it can put out about 180 Kw at the wheels. I did a conversion and that's ~241 hp at the wheels. Now, I had a discussion with my friend that has the turbocharged Si...it went something like this:

Him: Dude the new STi only puts out 210 hp at the wheels!
Me: Yeah that's good, what's your problem?
Him: Dude that's crap! I don't think it'd be worth it!
Me: WTF are you talking about? How can you say that?
Him: 'Cause my car puts out 240 at the wheels, so that's crap compared to my car!

Well okay so my friend is a little...obtuse...but that got me thinking. He's got (supposedly) 240 hp on 2 wheels, but can that really be compared to 240 hp on 4 wheels, or is it more like apples and oranges? I'm new to a lot of the performance-oriented stuff so can anyone please enlighten me on this?

·
Registered
161 Posts
I don't think you can compare that. The WRX was dynoed at 160-170 HP to the wheels from certain car magazines. That's less HP than some modded Integras but the WRX is still faster. Think of the STI as getting 210 HP to each wheel or each set and the other car getting 240 HP to two wheels or one set :).

·
1,911 Posts
I am dynoing at 251 at the wheels on my car at 15.5 PSI (with obvious many upgrades). Stock is around 180 which is about 20% power loss. My ITR put out around 163 whp stock which is 18% power loss. Stock the ITR runs high 14's. Stock the WRX runs mid 14's. That's about right. I think your friend has a point. The difference is not as much as you may think between a 2WD Honda and an AWD Subaru. That being said it is super easy to get over 275 whp on the Subaru (albeit NOT with the smallish VF23). It isn't as easy to get that out of a Honda and without a turbo almost impossible.

·
Registered