ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey...

I've been scouting a new car for myself for a couple of months now... I'm going to be commuting to school, so I need decent gas mileage, I love cars, and I didn't have a definite choice. That is, until I remembered the all wheel drive Subaru Impreza WRX. I want one really bad, but I need one question answered first... Automatic or Stick Shift?

Now, I realize that most of you are probably the highway tearing, ripping-through-the-gears manual junkies. But, I've never driven a manual except for my dirt bike. So, I want to know what you all think about driving the manual, how easy it is to learn, and how you manage in certain conditions (traffic, snow, icy roads, etc), and anything else you have to say about driving one. Or, if you would recommend the automatic and why. Thanks a lot, peace out.

·
Premium Member
16,991 Posts
Manual. It's better and you'll kick yourself if you don't get one. You can learn it. That is all. :)

·
Registered
310 Posts
Learn how to drive stick on one of your friends cars and see how you like it because learning how to drive stick on your brand new subie will not be pleasing. I have been driving a stick for about three years and i still find it hard sometimes to drive my car smoothly. Not to stear you away from buying a manual because it is a crap load of fun once you learn how. ;)

·
Registered
0 Posts
for any kind of driving enthusiasm, i would only recommend a manual. but if you are going to sit in bumper to bumper all day everyday, then i dare say get an automatic. actually, if you're going to be commuting alot, be awaure that the wrx's gas mileage SUCKS.

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
Get an auto, it's easier and you most likely won't have the same tranny problems that plague the manual wrx owners. Just be sure to get a downpipe and and uppipe, the auto is a little slower than the manual.

Good luck,

alex g.

·
Registered
285 Posts