ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to buy an VR4, well, I'm reaaaally looking for reasons why I should buy a wrx:thumbup: rather than a vr4, but anyway I guess that the Mitsu 3.0 TTs are interference engines, and so how does that compare to wrx 2.0s and 2.5s? The reason I would buy a VR4 is because they are cheaper. Sorry if this is a newb question. Don't be trolling though.

·
Super Moderator (Actually a SuperSpy)
29,231 Posts
Yes, they are interference engines.

Frankly of all the reasons I could find to prefer one over the other, this isn't anywhere on the radar, much less near the top.

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
What does it being an interference engine have to do with it?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
They said that if you have a timing malfunction, you would destroy your engine. I am really pretty ignorant, as a self taught 16 yo.

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
They said that if you have a timing malfunction, you would destroy your engine. I am really pretty ignorant, as a self taught 16 yo.
I'm pretty ignorant as a self taught 29 year old :rotfl:

A timing issue that would destroy your engine would really only occur if you don't take care of the timing belt within the recommended intervals (every 105k miles per Subaru) and it failed.

So what the hell is an example for a freewheeling engine anyway?

·
29,231 Posts
I'm looking for allll the reasons. Speaking of which, what reasons would you give?
To prefer a Subaru over a Mitsubishi? I have owned an older turbo Mitsubishi, and I would put its reliability at no more than one or two clicks above a Wankel -- and we're talking the motor alone. The drivetrain was also problematic. Since I don't want to bore you, I'd urge you to look at Mitsu-specific sites and see what you think.