ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm a complete newbie to my 04 WRX and AWD cars in general. All of the manual tranny cars that I've driven have been real wheel drive cars, such as my RX-7. Those guys you just dump the clutch at whatever RPM you feel like and it just spins if you gave it too much gas. Oh, another thing, I've never owned a turbo either, I need to learn that part as well. My WRX is bone stock as well.

Here is what I've noticed so far:
If I dump the clutch at 3k RPMs, it just takes off slow.
If I ride the clutch a little at 3k RPMs, this seems to give the best results so far, but if I go any higher RPMs I can sometimes smell the clutch burn a little.
If I dump the clutch at anything higher than 3k RPMs it jerks really hard, and sometimes bucks. I think I need to avoid dumping the clutch period.

Thanks for your help guys, I really love this car and so far, even though I don't have a really good takeoff I've pulled everyone that messed with me. :)

·
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Admin
48,699 Posts
Welcome to the Club. :)

The 5MT WRX doesn't like to be launched in the manner that you are describing. (dumping the clutch.)
Keep doing this, and your risk of needing a new transmission in the short term is high. Normal cars spin the wheels to relieve the stress of a hard launch; an AWD car won't spin the wheels like that, and all of the stress goes into the tranny.

If for some reason I need to get out of the hole quickly, I slip the clutch at around 3500rpms; that seems to work pretty well on my wagon.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3