Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here (and I mean NEWBIE) with a bone stock 2007 WRX, 113k miles on it. I've located a tuner (difficult, there aren't many in my rural area) who can disable the secondary air pump valve codes, which was my initial request. He's pitching a full, custom tune for about $300 and I'm tempted. I've got wide-open country roads and do like to open it up. I'm a Driver but not a mechanic or very educated about engines-- 90% of the jargon here is washing over me. Here's where I lay it bare: is a tune wasted on someone who appreciates a good, fast, technical drive without knowing all the technical stuff that makes it happen? If it goes bad, I wouldn't know how to tell him exactly what boost I'm getting, what my AF Learning is doing, etc. I just finished reading the Protune Disappointment thread and thought, man, if THIS guy got a bad tune and he already knows all this crap, what the hell am I thinking.

Second, less existential, question is whether that price seems rational.

·
Registered
468 Posts