Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just added on the cold air intake to my new baby with 230miles on it. I noticed with the stock intake the computer reading on the lcd was giving a "peak" psi at 20.4 range give or take....now I notice it at around 19.6 Peak psi. Is this a good thing or bad thing? The WRX is seems to have more beef when turning on and more aggressive during idle and acceleration, plus you can really hear that turbo swhoosh much louder. So the big question is dropping one PSI good or bad...I'm no expert.

Thanks!!:)

·
Æternum
15,873 Posts
What does your tuner say?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
55 Posts
Am I correct? Does the car need a tune if a cold air intake is added? I added one to my 05 wrx and three days later I blew a head gasket. I am unsure and would like to be positive for future reference.

·
Super Moderator
11,476 Posts
Yes. The car has to be tuned for an intake

·
Æternum
15,873 Posts
Am I correct? Does the car need a tune if a cold air intake is added? I added one to my 05 wrx and three days later I blew a head gasket. I am unsure and would like to be positive for future reference.
It is highly recommended.

·
BooSTIng
2,288 Posts
Is your car tuned? Like mentioned above. It must be tuned for an intake.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Sometimes you have to do it twice to learn from your mistakes, eh?

Just know that the minute you upload that tune your engine warranty is pretty much gone. Without that permanently stamped alteration to your CPU, you can probably just take the intake off now and keep your warranty on your brand new car. Just something to consider.

·
Super Moderator
11,476 Posts
It is highly recommended.