ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my Accessport, and have my ERZ up/down pipes sitting in my living room.

I need to get inspected in October. Anyway my question is, I know I will be Stg 2 with the up/down's but will i still pass emissions?

Anyone delt with this yet?

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
You have an '04, correct? New cars are exempt from emissions testing for 2 model years. My '02 will be due for its first tailpipe sniff ever in September. ;)

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Heh, oh, well in that case, you should fail the visual inspection for emissions tampering if you put the pipes on. If the inspector doesn't bother to look, you may squeak thru the tailpipe sniff.

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
fatalbertswrx said:
they shouldnt sniff the tailpipe.

it is OBDII now.

just a plug in.

no need for a visual... from my understanding of the mechanics at my work.

(i am a painter)
I am a certified NY state inspector. Downstate in the New York metro area we are running the RG240 tailpipe/dyno test. Upstate, out of the NYMA I believe they are running the BAR90 idle (tailpipe) test but I'm in the NYMA so I'm not entirely sure.

·
Administrator
26,609 Posts
chevyeater said:
I am a certified NY state inspector. Downstate in the New York metro area we are running the RG240 tailpipe/dyno test. Upstate, out of the NYMA I believe they are running the BAR90 idle (tailpipe) test but I'm in the NYMA so I'm not entirely sure.
Everybody run!!! It's a spy!!! ***runs out of house screaming and flailing arms above head***

·
Registered
319 Posts
chevyeater said:
then what is the point of OBDII if states are still using the sniffer for new cars.

isnt one of the main reasons for OBDII to get RID of the Tailpipe sniffer??

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Trainrex said:
Everybody run!!! It's a spy!!! ***runs out of house screaming and flailing arms above head***
Haha. I think I'm gonna have to sig that.