ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a mechanic newbie, I read tons of articles online and decided to tackle a relatively easy upgrade job on my own, for the first time!! (Don't you laugh!!). So, the upgrade of Group N Trans Mount and Cross Member Bushings should be fairly easy to do, right? Just a couple of 14mm's and 17mm's and done deal!

So, after getting the necessary tools (breaker bars, 3/8 ratchet and a whole bunch of sockets), I started the work and got the car up on four jacks. Breaking loose the 14mm's seemed a bit harder than I would expect, because after all they are only torqued at 50 ft-lb or so, right? But, (and here's a big but), those 17mm's (107 ft-lb) just won't get off!! No matter what I tried, breaker bars, longer ratchet (maybe still not long enough) and hitting the breaker bars with hammers, punching the bolts, etc, and nothing worked! People would also suggest lubricants to spray and loosen up the bolts, but those 17mm's are down-facing ones. So I don't think spraying from underneath would do anything at all...

Anyways, it was a relatively irritating afternoon. I've got music and sort of enjoyed working on the car, but it's still very frustrating because nothing is really done. Now, the frustration has led me to a DeWalt electric impact wrench, and hopefully this will get those work done nicely.

So, would the electric impact wrench work? Anything I should be paying special attention to? People from online are saying that impact wrenches have higher risk to strip or snap the bolts. Is this correct? If so, how can I avoid doing so?

Thanks a lot...

Edit: By the way, the car is a 2011 wrx. And I've had it for just over a year now. So it's not like that I'm trying to work on a bolt that hasn't been touched by a quarter of a century.

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
PB Blaster or liquid wrench the bolts...let sit for a few hours...then tackle the job.