Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to avoid carbon deposits on the valves of my new WRX base model (FA20). Car will not be modified, or taken to the track.

Should I install dual catch cans, an AOS, or just leave it alone, given how it will be used?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1 Posts
I'm not a professional but I think something is better than nothing. Get the cheaper option keep it installed for a year. So you get all season use and see if they actually do anything. If they don't remove and now you know:)

·
Registered
249 Posts
I would install at least a dbl catch can (usually cheaper option) so you can get best of both world. I don’t think you need more expensive aos because like you said you wont track or mod the car so I can’t justify the expense. The double cans should act as a “filter” within the existing stock system. It can’t be worst than nothing so to me its a go.

Good to note that it’s not an invasive mod too

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If I choose to try a catch can...from what I've seen on the net, the PCV side has much more oil in it than the CCV side, to the point where a CCV catch can is not really necessary.

If true, is installing a single catch can sufficient?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Before you piss money away.

What result are you expecting?
I'm expecting a) less oil vapor into the intake to reduce carbon deposits on intake valves and b) cleaner air for combustion.

My primary goal is a). I don't want to have valves walnut blasted as general maintenance.

·
Super Moderator
11,785 Posts
I'm expecting a) less oil vapor into the intake to reduce carbon deposits on intake valves and b) cleaner air for combustion.

My primary goal is a). I don't want to have valves walnut blasted as general maintenance.
This won't achieve that.

·
Super Moderator
11,785 Posts