ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys im new to tuning and WRX knowledge what not. I was talking to a few car people and ive gotten mixed responses on whether or not I should tune it to stage 2+, I have just over 3000 miles on the car and from what ive read here many people tune theirs cars but are very careful about how they do that. Im wondering what the ordeal would be if I stage 2 my car and whether I should get use a Cobb tune or go to a tuner. I want this car to be fun but I also want it to be safe as possible regarding the overall life of the car. I'd realy appreciate some help with this as it is a very big step for someone with a small amount of car knowlegde.

Thanks

·
11,231 Posts
Hey guys im new to tuning and WRX knowledge what not. I was talking to a few car people and ive gotten mixed responses on whether or not I should tune it to stage 2+, I have just over 3000 miles on the car and from what ive read here many people tune theirs cars but are very careful about how they do that. Im wondering what the ordeal would be if I stage 2 my car and whether I should get use a Cobb tune or go to a tuner. I want this car to be fun but I also want it to be safe as possible regarding the overall life of the car. I'd realy appreciate some help with this as it is a very big step for someone with a small amount of car knowlegde.

Thanks
Stage 2+ requires an intake, 3" downpipe (j-pipe) with a cat and the tune.

Cobb is generally regarded as a safe bet with some of the brightest Subaru performance segment when it comes to remapping vehicles and knowledge of their systems. You'll get more power however nothing is free.

The cvt transmission will be limited on what mods are available, it's torque handling is low and won't support much more torque than factory spec. This means Cobb, and many tuning outfits won't touch anything besides an intake and tune.