Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on the Club WRX forums, so please forgive me if this post is not in the right place. For the past 1,000 miles or so, my 2019 WRX 6mt has been making a fairly audible, metallic ringing/chirping sound with low throttle inputs at low RPM. The sound is most noticeable when starting from a dead stop in first gear, say at around 1,200-1,500 RPM. Additionally, the sound does not seem to occur at idle, but is very noticeable if I rev the engine slightly in neutral. I have linked a video of this below; the sound occurs as I raise the engine RPMs slightly, and again as the RPMs fall, and settle back into the regular idle. Also, the position of the clutch does not seem to matter; the sound will occur revving the engine in neutral with the clutch depressed or released.

The noise is most audible from outside the car at about 15 seconds in

Once the car is moving at speed (say, 25 mph in second gear), the sound seems to become a constant, yet subtle background chirp; the first time I noticed it, for instance I thought it was the crickets outside. The sound occurs every single time I start off in first gear, regardless of environmental/engine temperature. Additionally, the sound does seem more pronounced with the A/C running, or when starting on an incline. Ultimately, it's most bothersome when putting around a parking lot, when the chirp will "bounce" off of parked cars and walls, making it very noticeable.

Some additional information: