Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i have a little over 2,000 miles on my new baby and i have been itching to get some mods/tuning done for it. After talking with people and getting thoughts and opinions the general talk is waiting a bit so you can actually notice what the mods have done for your car. I was planning on getting a stage 1 cobb upgrade to start. What is everyone's thoughts as far as companies to buy from and upgrades under the $1000 mark. I really would like to get a intake and a bov. I'm new to the tuning game as well so any thoughts are appreciated.

·
Registered
122 Posts
You're wasting your money on an intake, it performs well enough. (I've read it should handle nearly 400whp). The BOV is even worse of an option for modifying. To put it simply, the ECU is measuring the air that flows in and out of the turbo system at all times. When you allow air to go to the atmosphere that the ECU is expecting to recirculate, you're causing a rich air/fuel mixture. You can research the effects of that. If you want "mods", keep them cosmetic for I'd say atleast 5k miles; personally I'm going 10k miles before tuning. If you go tuning/modding stuff and mess something up it'll be beyond costly when your warranty claim is denied. You should do some more reading on this forum, you'll see this is the trend. In addition, there are a plethora of build threads and questions answered just like this that will provide more information than you can absorb. Good luck.

·
Registered
386 Posts
I'd keep the stock BOV.

MaPerformance.com has some good package deals with the Cobb PA.

·
Registered
198 Posts
If you're gonna do any performance mods pick up a Cobb Access Port. Even the Stage 1 OTS is better than the stock feel imo. Some will say stay stock until your warranty runs out but if you're itching, jump.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
45 Posts