Subaru WRX Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2017 wrx. I have very little knowledge when it comes to e-tuning an engine and I have Two quick questions:
1. I found on internet that some of the things that may be modified during an tuning are: boost pressure, ignition timing, raising the speed, and rev and torque limiters. Are those correct, Is something else that gets modified, or something is NOT change in a wrx?
2. Since I have a limited knowledge I will heavily trust whatever the e-tuner says looks right; however, I would like to know what I should look for in the data log (Cobb access port) to know that a good job has been done and nothing is wrong with the engine. The goal is to conservatively increase engine power.

·
For External Use Only
2,488 Posts
Watch your Boost, Feedback Knock, Fine Knock Learn, and DAM, essentially. There are plenty of other factors.

If you're dead set on Etuning, Contact Eric @ Torqued Performance, Bren Tuning, or if you want the best of the best, JR from JR Tuned also does E-Tunes.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What should I be looking for in the boost? What is the max boost the car can reach safely (conservatively)? Should I look for sudden boost drops? How about the feedback knock, fine knock and DAM, what should I be looking on those? All I want is to learn some basics so I will know if the etuner is doing something crazy and make me believe is OK. Also, would it make a difference to do the etuner now in the winter vs in the spring or summer? Finally, once the tunning is done if I am going to higher elevation, should I worry about something? Should I get it back to the original map if I will spend a significant time at a higher elevation since the atmospheric pressure changes? Thanks so much for the help.

·
Master Baiter
12,649 Posts
hmartine said:
What should I be looking for in the boost?