Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to WRX and have wanted my dream car for years. Just bought brand new 2017 WRX limited 6 days ago. I'm obviously still in the break in period. I'm at about 650 miles. I wanted to know if I'm hurting my engine or creating possible issue down the road. I have for the most part kept it under 4000-4500 rpm. There have been times where I need to get on it and hit 5000 rpm like sometimes when merging on high way. But it's not very long and then when I notice it I shift up quickly and bring the rpm back down. Just wanted to see what you guys thought about it. Any help and advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
555 Posts
I'm no expert, but I did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

I believe the occasional blip past the 4,000 rpm when shifting may occasionally happen and is most likely no big deal . . . it's not like these engines are made out of egg shells (. . . or are they?) I suspect the guy who gets into the brand new WRX and is routinely hammering on the engine and always putting it past 4,000 rpm or to the redline is the guy who may end up with issues down the road.

P.S. I lied. I actually slept in my own bed last night so the above info may be no good.

·
Super Moderator
11,417 Posts
Without elaborate mechanical analysis, who knows. I would say your fine but don't drive it like you stole it. Keep out of wide open throttle, don't use cruise vary rpm on long trips by shifting between 5th and 6th

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1 Posts
you should be fine. Just bought mine 6 days ago as well. I just keep it under 4k all the time but I did go over it once or twice. You should be fine.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Just drive it. These are not 1970s engines that need special treatment.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
667 Posts