Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have wanted a wrx since i was a kid, owned a 2000 legacy gt for the last 7 years, but it finally got to the point where i didnt want to maintain it anymore. Sold it, and got myself a white 2010 wrx hatchback with 92k on it. A little on the high mileage side, but i think i can cope just fine, i am a honda technician and working on cars is my daily job, but i have always loved subaru. Just wondering from anyone more experienced of anything i should be looking out for, this car makes quite a few extra noises i am not used to. First off, ive never owned a manual transmission vehicle before, though i drive them often, and so far i am loving it. i do have a few questions though, so just let me know where i should post my questions since this is just the newbies forum.

1. 2nd gear whines a bit, from what ive read this might be completely normal, just curious. Also, if im driving slow through my neighborhood (15 mph limit) 2nd gear makes some strange growling if completely off the gas and clutch, also may be normal, just looking for some insight into what the cause of this is... heat shield rattle, gear lash, etc.