ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I bought a 2008 Subaru Impreza WRX about 3 months ago and I am looking to slowly but surely upgrade it in the coming months. At the moment I have around $4000 to spend on it, but I have no idea where to even start as this is the first car I've owned that is actually nice enough to put money into.

When I say "no idea" I literally mean no clue. I've never worked on cars before or done any modifying to my previous cars so this is uncharted territory for me.

Specifically, I am looking to add a bit of a rumble to the sound of the car, and I'd like to add a fair amount of horsepower as well without going overboard. I'm also looking to add that "head-turning" factor into the exterior, so headlights, body kits, spoilers-whatever is eye catching, really.

Again, I realize 4k is not alot when it comes to purchasing items, but I figure its a good start.

I'm open to any and all suggestions!

Thanks so much in advance!

·
Registered
1 Posts
I support this thread.

I am pretty much in the same boat as you. Also got my 2008 recently, also noobish when it comes to mods. I've done a few very minor things so far (pedals, footwell LEDs, side moldings). Got my accessport on the way. Looking to add a new downpipe and exhaust (Cobb, prob) in the spring. And that ugly a$$ grill has got to go.

Besides all that, I'm not quite sure where to go next. I'd love some ideas tho.

·
Premium Member
25,496 Posts
if you want a decent reliable amount of horsepower I would personally look into a vf52 turbo, downpipe, cat back exhaust, electronic boost control solonoid, a new top mount intercooler and a protune.. After that focus on suspension and braking.

·
Registered
863 Posts