Subaru WRX Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I have been looking endlessly for a wrx that I can buy cheap to drive as a short daily driver. My diesel doesn’t like the 5 minute drive to work when it’s 20 degrees out. I have never owned a Subaru however I have always wanted one since I was a kid watching rally (26 now btw). Ironically I have very little experience with a manual transmission except a 74 corvette 4 speed drove a handful of times. I was hoping to keep my budget around 5-8k which I know is low and you will get what you pay for and most likely high miles. That has been my problem. It’s either high miles, salvage title or has an endless list of mods. Really, I’m just trying to find something that will get me to work and back, maybe do a few things to it (ie exhaust, it gotta sound good) and will give me an idea of how I like the Subaru and manual car to potential get a new or newer one in the future. Kind of get my foot in the door.

So here comes the question. I have found a 2007 wrx sti with 167k miles, he claims he’s the second owner, clean title and it’s completely STOCK. He’s asking 13.5k for it which is a little higher than book and more than I wanted to spend but saying it was stock is what caught my eye. I also didn’t really want the sti as it is more than I need. You think this is to good to be true? Is it a good deal? Is the miles concerning? What would be the potential issues with a car this old and miles? What are your thoughts on this particular car itself and year?

Sorry I know it’s a lot of questions. Thanks for your input!

·
Registered
561 Posts