ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,328 Posts
I think the A/F is usually the same, but you can advance the timing. I know with C16 you can run a leaner A/F and more timing due to its intrinsic knock resistance (lead and higher specific gravity).

Don't hold me to that...I'm no expert. :)

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've read some about MON and RON ratings, but Im no expert.

I've looked everywhere for those ratings for CAM 2 100 octane unleaded but can't seem to find anything. I guess what I'll do is just use it as a safety for my best street map. U can be sure that this car loves the 100 octane. I may try advancing the timing a little to see if I get some knock though.

If anyone knows about CAM 2 more, chime in.

·
Registered
656 Posts
SBW said:
I've read some about MON and RON ratings, but Im no expert.

I've looked everywhere for those ratings for CAM 2 100 octane unleaded but can't seem to find anything. I guess what I'll do is just use it as a safety for my best street map. U can be sure that this car loves the 100 octane. I may try advancing the timing a little to see if I get some knock though.

If anyone knows about CAM 2 more, chime in.
you can bump timing, or boost, or a little of both.

i'd expect you could get close to 5 more degrees out of the 100 octane if you leave MAP alone.

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
IIRC the Cam2 is rebadged Sunoco GT100 http://www.racegas.com/fuelspecs/default.asp . Comparing drinks to race fuel, it is the Schlitz of racegas. Only 95 MON heavily oxygenated and volatile. Take baby steps if you are going to start bumping timing. I wouldn't lean my motor out on it. VP makes the best race gas www.vpracingfuels.com . C16 is Dom Perignon for your turbo car.

·
Registered
68 Posts