ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want a short throw shifter because the stock one is kinda crap. I am new to Subaru so know nothing about the options available to me. Is it worth asking my dealer to install a Subaru 5 speed STI shifter or am I better off buying a Cobb for half the price and installing that?

Edit: Is it easy to install this myself? I am not mechanically minded, but can handle basic things.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Bump.

I also have an '08 WRX and I'm also looking to get a short shifter. But which one? Kart Boy, STP, Perrin, Cobb, AVO? Which one seems to have the best reviews amongst ClubWRX.net?

·
Registered
0 Posts
kb makes a good ss

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Does anyone one have experience with the Subaru shifter? It is certain not to void any warranties. It would be useful to know how it stands up the Cobb and the KB, both of which seem to get good reviews on this site.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Does anyone one have experience with the Subaru shifter? It is certain not to void any warranties. It would be useful to know how it stands up the Cobb and the KB, both of which seem to get good reviews on this site.
i have it on one of my sti... the kb one is alot cheaper and has alot shorter of a throw

·
Registered
96 Posts
i have it on one of my sti... the kb one is alot cheaper and has alot shorter of a throw
Thanks a lot rr1911, that's good information to me and it's especially reassuring since about 2 hours ago, I ordered a KB short shifter.

·
Registered
842 Posts
my 07 WRX has the Sti 5 speed Short throw. it costs a ton more but was already on the car. the reason its so much more is because its not just an adapter or something to change the angles. They actually replace it with a whole new shifter assembly. i've been pretty happy with it though... pretty much no slop.

·
Registered
96 Posts
I looked at their website and didn't see a shifter for the '08.