ClubWRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I have a 2006 wrx that has already been modded somewhat. I am considering adding more power to it and would like to ask for advice since im new to the subaru world. I put it on the dyno and it made 285whp and 296wtq. The dyno shop told me the next supporting mod I would need is a STI 6 speed swap.. They said I could prolly do the swap for under 5k without selling my old tranny.
My current mods are, SPT intake, SPT exhaust, Bigger turbo (Previous owner), Invidia downpipe, 3 inch exhaust, upgraded coil pack, brembo front brake kit, rota G force rims, Defi boost gauge with control unit II, xenon conversion kit, open sourced tuned by previous owner and boost is set at 17psi but spikes somewhat.

What all could I do to it to maybe make 400whp in the future? I dont want to add Nos, meth, or a coffee can turbo that doesnt spool until 5k...
Thank you in advance!

·
Premium Member
17,655 Posts
you'll need a gt35r sized turbo. Other options are the Blouch Dominator 3.0 XT-R, AMR's Stock Location GT35R, or Forced Performance's FP Red.

·
Pro Manscaper
21,455 Posts
Well that's just it...you'd have to add a bigger turbo to get more power. You're kind of a the point to where there really isn't much else you can do for power besides upgrade (aside from tearing down your block, perhaps headers, things like that, but that doesn't yield a good benefit per the costs). Do you know what turbo is on the car now? I can't tell from that pic...

Increasing power further *could* be rough on the stock transmission as the 5spd is generally known to be unreliable as you approach 300whp, but that also depends highly on how you drive (abuse it? launch? bang gears? etc.)...if you take it easy on the tranny, it can last fine at your power level.